top of page
Writer's pictureBakingBiking&More

Kona Banana Bread Recipe

Updated: Aug 16, 2020


Some of y'all may have heard of a Kona Inn Banana Bread recipe. This is a coincidence, because my dad's dog's name was Kona. I found this recipe in a recipe box my grandma gave to me that was filled with many family recipes. When I first picked up this recipe card, I thought it meant Kona, as in my dad's dog. I did a little research just to look at other techniques for making banana bread. This is when I found out it wasn't named after Kona the dog. I thought it would be fun to share this recipes with y'all. I didn't have the right sized pan as my great-grandmother did, so I adjusted the baking time to fit my pan.


Here is a little bit about Kona Inn Banana Bread:

This is a famous recipe that was created in Kona Inn in Hawaii. Many people have put their own twists to their recipe!

Kona Banana Bread

Total Time: 55 minutes/ Bake Time: 45 minutes


Ingredients:

- 1/2 c. margarine

- 1 c. granulated sugar

- 2 eggs

- 3/4 c. (2) very ripe mashed bananas

- 1 1/4 c. cake flour (Swan's)

- 3/4 tsp. baking soda

- 1/2 tsp. salt

- 1/2 c. chopped walnuts (not in original, but they make everything better:)


Directions:

1. Pre-heat oven to 340°F convection bake. Grease a 9'x5'x3' pan. Make sure to really grease the bottom and corners of your pan!


2. Cream margarine and sugar until fluffy. About 3-5 minutes. Scrape down sides every minute. Meanwhile, sift cake flour, baking soda, and salt together.

3. In the creamed mixture, add in one egg at a time, making sure each one is well mixed. Fold in mashed bananas to the creamed mixture after eggs are combined. The batter may separate a little here (little white specks). Don't worry! when baked, no one will know, and it will not make a difference!


4. Now fold in dry ingredients and walnuts until just mixed. Pour into pan.


5. Bake at 340° for 17 minutes, then lower the temperature to 315° for 28 minutes. Stick a toothpick in the middle of the bread. If it comes out clean,take it out. There may be a banana chunk on it. As long as there is no batter on it, it is fine!

(If there is a banana chunk, if you have a dog, it would love it:)

6. Cool in pan for 20 minutes. Wiggle the pan back in forth, and you can take a butter knife to loosen the edges a bit. Flip on a cooling rack CAREFULLY! Allow to cool on rack for 10 minutes. Slice up and serve! Enjoy!

This is why you have to flip it CAREFULLY! It will break!

While its baking, the aroma is amazing!


Here is the riddle! Comment if you know the answer!

Which weighs more, a pound of feathers or a pound of bricks?


The answer to the tree riddle is because it gives everyone shade.


I hope y'all enjoyed this post! Stay tuned for more recipe posts!

67 views3 comments

Recent Posts

See All

3 comentários


Atticus Finch
Atticus Finch
17 de mai. de 2020

They both weigh the same.

Curtir

Jennie Lombardo
Jennie Lombardo
17 de mai. de 2020

I can vouch for the banana bread. It was the best I have ever had. We had such fun ah-ha moments about Kona!

Curtir

lillicross
17 de mai. de 2020

This Banana Bread is to die for!!! Yum with coffee!

Curtir
bottom of page