top of page
Writer's pictureBakingBiking&More

Croquembouche with Eggnog Cream


Croquembouche with Eggnog Cream! This is a tower of cream puffs filled with eggnog pastry cream and held together with caramelized sugar!


I made this for a baking contest hosted by @breadbakingbabe and @yetanotherfoodpage .


I started by making the eggnog flavored pastry cream. Next, I made the choux pastry puffs and filled them with cream. I made the caramelized sugar and started assembling. Finally after 12 long hours and multiple times of heating up sugar, I had finished my croquembouche! All recipes will be listed below.


Eggnog Pastry Cream

- 4 c. Eggnog

- 2 egg

- 4 egg yolks

- 2/3 c. Granulated sugar

- 1/2 c. Cornstarch

- Hint of Nutmeg

- 4 TBSP. Cold, salted butter


1. Warm up eggnog. Mix together egg, egg yolks, cornstarch, and granulated sugar. Slowly temper the egg mixture with the warm eggnog.


2. Now put the mixture back on the stove on LOW heat. Stir constantly. The mixture will start to thicken. Take off heat and cover with plastic cling wrap in the refrigerator for at least 2 hours.


Choux Pastry

- 4 sticks salted butter

- 4 c. Water

- 6 TBSP. Granulated sugar

- 4 c. AP flour

- 12 eggs


1. Bring the water, butter and sugar to a boil. Take off heat and stir in flour with a wooden spoon. Put back on heat of 20 seconds.


2. Mix in the 12 eggs one at a time. Pipe the mixture on a parchment lined baking sheet and bake for 10 minutes at 425 degrees F. Turn the heat down to 325 degrees F. Bake for another 10 minutes. Cool on a baking rack and fill with the eggnog pastry cream.


Caramelized Sugar

- 2 c. Granulated sugar

- 1/2 c. Water


Boil on high heat until golden brown.


I hope everyone enjoys this recipe! I spent a long time on it, and I think my work payed off! Check out my Instagram for more recipes!

Instagram: @baking_biking_more

YouTube: Baking Biking & More





1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page